this post was submitted on 27 Oct 2026
156 points (100.0% liked)

Linux

15349 readers
123 users here now

A community for everything relating to the GNU/Linux operating system (except the memes!)

Also, check out:

Original icon base courtesy of lewing@isc.tamu.edu and The GIMP

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] ulterno@programming.dev 5 points 2 days ago (3 children)

I have hated "Safely Remove" from back when I was on Windows.
Always did weird GUI stuff and does on this too.

So I just use syncand when it properly finishes, I do safely remove.

[–] bjoern_tantau@swg-empire.de 4 points 2 days ago (1 children)

I always assumed "safely remove" is just a umount which in turn does the sync before returning.

[–] ulterno@programming.dev 1 points 2 hours ago

Yes. I do too.
But historically, the way it has indicated "working" in cases it takes more than a second, has been not very reliable.
Specially on Ubuntu + GNOME back when I had to use it in the office.

[–] flameleaf@programming.dev 2 points 2 days ago (1 children)

I type sync, then unmount/eject, then safely remove

Can't be too careful

[–] ulterno@programming.dev 0 points 2 hours ago

unmount/eject, then safely remove

If you still have the safely remove option after running "unmount/eject", I need to know what device you used.

[–] Shayeta@feddit.org 2 points 2 days ago (1 children)

Same, waiting for sync -f to finish would help most of the time.

[–] ulterno@programming.dev 1 points 2 hours ago* (last edited 2 hours ago)

TIL, dd has the option conv=fsync that makes it wait until all writing is finished, before exiting.

So you can just touch /path/to/new/filename and then dd ... of=/path/to/new/filename conv=fsync

Of course, you would have to do this for each file, in case it is multiple