this post was submitted on 27 Oct 2026
157 points (100.0% liked)

Linux

15349 readers
93 users here now

A community for everything relating to the GNU/Linux operating system (except the memes!)

Also, check out:

Original icon base courtesy of lewing@isc.tamu.edu and The GIMP

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[โ€“] bjoern_tantau@swg-empire.de 4 points 2 days ago (1 children)

I always assumed "safely remove" is just a umount which in turn does the sync before returning.

[โ€“] ulterno@programming.dev 1 points 8 hours ago

Yes. I do too.
But historically, the way it has indicated "working" in cases it takes more than a second, has been not very reliable.
Specially on Ubuntu + GNOME back when I had to use it in the office.