this post was submitted on 13 Sep 2026
35 points (97.3% liked)
Privacy
50907 readers
950 users here now
A place to discuss privacy and freedom in the digital world.
Privacy has become a very important issue in modern society, with companies and governments constantly abusing their power, more and more people are waking up to the importance of digital privacy.
In this community everyone is welcome to post links and discuss topics related to privacy.
Some Rules
- Posting a link to a website containing tracking isn't great, if contents of the website are behind a paywall maybe copy them into the post
- Don't promote proprietary software
- Try to keep things on topic
- If you have a question, please try searching for previous discussions, maybe it has already been answered
- Reposts are fine, but should have at least a couple of weeks in between so that the post can reach a new audience
- Be nice :)
Related communities
much thanks to @gary_host_laptop for the logo design :)
founded 6 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments
You can go through iCloud settings and delete all backups then sign out of iCloud.
You probably know this. And, you might suspect as I do that nothing is ever really deleted, they just disable your access to it and don't do anymore backups. There's nothing we can do about that, we gave it to them, they'll keep it forever, associated with your account, no matter what they say--at least that's what I think. Maybe Apple really does delete it, but I doubt it.
Google doesn't delete anything, I doubt Apple does, either:
https://medium.com/@istokovicsgyorgy79/the-great-google-scam-the-delete-button-that-actually-deletes-nothing-6fc2b169a778