this post was submitted on 12 Sep 2026
409 points (96.2% liked)
Technology
88098 readers
3575 users here now
This is a most excellent place for technology news and articles.
Our Rules
- Follow the lemmy.world rules.
- Only tech related news or articles.
- Be excellent to each other!
- Mod approved content bots can post up to 10 articles per day.
- Threads asking for personal tech support may be deleted.
- Politics threads may be removed.
- No memes allowed as posts, OK to post as comments.
- Only approved bots from the list below, this includes using AI responses and summaries. To ask if your bot can be added please contact a mod.
- Check for duplicates before posting, duplicates may be removed
- Accounts 7 days and younger will have their posts automatically removed.
Approved Bots
founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments
Is the user made aware of this by the operator (signal, telegram, et al)?
If not, it's a big haul to get to competency. The operator should be educating users on how to limit compromise.
i just logged into signal on my desktop app about 4 hours ago, and about 90 minutes after that i got a message from signal to my phone to inform me about this.
What exactly did they tell you?
"hey, somebody logged into your signal account on desktop about an hour ago. might want to check that that was actually you"
It NEVER advertises itself as such.
IIRC Signal DOES warn you about this, first when you make an account, and then when you try to save media files, and when you try to start a group chat. The others aren't remotely secure anyway and I have no interest in attempting to defend them.