this post was submitted on 24 Jul 2026
-6 points (37.5% liked)

Open Source

49346 readers
239 users here now

All about open source! Feel free to ask questions, and share news, and interesting stuff!

Useful Links

Rules

Related Communities

Community icon from opensource.org, but we are not affiliated with them.

founded 7 years ago
MODERATORS
top 18 comments
sorted by: hot top controversial new old
[–] toothbrush@lemmy.blahaj.zone 11 points 2 months ago (4 children)
[–] themoken@startrek.website 13 points 2 months ago

I've never seen a repo so reticent to tell you what it is.

My guess is it's the journal software running the .org but everything also seems to be down half the time.

[–] HeartyOfGlass@piefed.social 12 points 2 months ago

From their homepage:

Dreamwidth Studios is a home for creative artists of all types. Share your writing, your artwork, or your innermost thoughts. Find others who create the sort of things you like to enjoy. Control who can see your creation with our fine-grained privacy controls. Participate in communities for any one of a hundred topics. We are an independent, Open Source, community-centric service, and we support diversity in all its forms. Come dream with us.

Sounds like another social media platform.

[–] SmokeInFog@midwest.social 5 points 2 months ago

Yeah, I tried to go to their wiki the main repo's readme links to but it won't load for me

[–] MeowerMisfit817@lemmy.world 4 points 2 months ago

2000s forum-ish website

[–] celeste@kbin.earth 7 points 2 months ago (2 children)

This is one of the ones that popped up when there was a mass migration off of livejournal, right?

[–] communism@lemmy.ml 5 points 2 months ago
[–] MeowerMisfit817@lemmy.world 0 points 2 months ago (1 children)
[–] celeste@kbin.earth 2 points 2 months ago (1 children)

I think it is! That means I probably have an ancient dead account on there, plus a second dead account from when tumblr made an annoying change. I remember liking it, but just never got into using it. There were a number of lj clones that popped up, but I think dreamwidth is the one I went for. They seemed the most organized and likely to stick around. Since it was founded in 2008, I guess I was right!

[–] MeowerMisfit817@lemmy.world 0 points 2 months ago (2 children)

But why is my post getting downvoted like that?

[–] bravemonkey@lemmy.ca 5 points 2 months ago* (last edited 2 months ago)

This will sound harsh, but you got downvoted for posting a random link to a github page without any explanation of what it was or why anyone might be interested in it.

Try a little bit more effort next time maybe.

[–] celeste@kbin.earth 4 points 2 months ago (1 children)

People think it's a spam post, maybe?

[–] MeowerMisfit817@lemmy.world -1 points 2 months ago (1 children)

God forbid an user finds another open source project and wants to show them it, I guess.

[–] Hund@feddit.nu 3 points 2 months ago

You need to add some sort of context. Posting a single link without even a title explaining what it is, makes it look like random spam.

[–] pomegranatefern@sh.itjust.works 2 points 2 months ago (1 children)

I have never felt older than seeing all the comments here by people who have absolutely no idea what DreamWidth is. Get off my lawn, ya damn whippersnappers!

[–] MeowerMisfit817@lemmy.world 3 points 2 months ago (1 children)

I'm considering having a blog there, to be honest.

Still wonder why do people saw this post and thought of it as spam. Eh.

[–] pomegranatefern@sh.itjust.works 2 points 2 months ago* (last edited 2 months ago) (1 children)

It is a bit odd. I think maybe because people aren't familiar with it, it comes off as a promotion? Maybe try editing something into the post body like "DreamWidth is a LiveJournal-like journaling site which sprung up in the wake of LiveJournal censorship in the late aughts. Its flagship site is still focused on an ad-free and user-focused experience, OE host it yourself. Check it out if you miss the golden days of LiveJournal."

[–] MeowerMisfit817@lemmy.world 1 points 2 months ago

Well, God forbid someone trying to show people another open-source project, I guess.

Thanks anyway :)