this post was submitted on 17 Oct 2026
-68 points (14.6% liked)

Selfhosted

63017 readers
1324 users here now

A place to share alternatives to popular online services that can be self-hosted without giving up privacy or locking you into a service you don't control.

Rules:

Detailed Rules Post

  1. Be civil.

  2. No spam.

  3. Posts are to be related to self-hosting.

  4. Don't duplicate the full text of your blog or readme if you're providing a link.

  5. Submission headline should match the article title.

  6. No trolling.

  7. Promotion posts require active participation, with an account that is at least 30 days old. F/LOSS without a paywall has exceptions, with requirements. See the rules link for details. Tags [CBH] or [AIP] are required, see the links in Rule 8 for details.

  8. AI-related discussions and AI-involved promotional posts have additional requirements for tagging, as noted in Rule 7 and the AI & Promotional Post Expanded Rules post, and find example disclosures here.

Resources:

Any issues on the community? Report it using the report flag.

Questions? DM the mods!

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
 

Heads up, if you use home assistant, any credentials in your config have been hoovered up without your knowledge

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] curbstickle_lw@lemmy.world 35 points 18 hours ago* (last edited 18 hours ago)

TL;DR:

  • No, your passwords/secrets have not been shared anywhere.
  • This is a long-standing feature and has been discussed in HA forums before.
  • You can turn it off, but that is generally not recommended.

This post has been reported for misinformation.

I agree due to how its phrased by OP, but its not completely off base in that HIBP is used, but it is a severe misunderstanding of how. So I'm going to leave it up for awareness, while adding some notes and a few quick links here.

A quick quote from HA:

Your secrets are never sent anywhere. The check uses an algorithm called K-Anonymity that makes sure the service never sees your password, not even its complete hash. Your secrets and privacy stay protected.

The check is on by default. If you prefer not to run it, you can turn it off using the command line:

ha security options --pwned=false

To turn the check back on again, run:

ha security options --pwned=true

In short - HomeAssistant has never shared your passwords anywhere. HomeAssistant shares a part of a hash. In no way, shape, or form does this expose your passwords/secrets.


  1. HA Page on Pwned passwords and secrets
  2. HaveIBeenPwned
  3. k-anonymity