TL;DR:
- No, your passwords/secrets have not been shared anywhere.
- This is a long-standing feature and has been discussed in HA forums before.
- You can turn it off, but that is generally not recommended.
This post has been reported for misinformation.
I agree due to how its phrased by OP, but its not completely off base in that HIBP is used, but it is a severe misunderstanding of how. So I'm going to leave it up for awareness, while adding some notes and a few quick links here.
A quick quote from HA:
Your secrets are never sent anywhere. The check uses an algorithm called K-Anonymity that makes sure the service never sees your password, not even its complete hash. Your secrets and privacy stay protected.
The check is on by default. If you prefer not to run it, you can turn it off using the command line:
ha security options --pwned=false
To turn the check back on again, run:
ha security options --pwned=true
In short - HomeAssistant has never shared your passwords anywhere. HomeAssistant shares a part of a hash. In no way, shape, or form does this expose your passwords/secrets.