this post was submitted on 08 Jun 2026
261 points (97.1% liked)

Piracy: ꜱᴀɪʟ ᴛʜᴇ ʜɪɢʜ ꜱᴇᴀꜱ

69380 readers
355 users here now

⚓ Dedicated to the discussion of digital piracy, including ethical problems and legal advancements.

Rules • Full Version

1. Posts must be related to the discussion of digital piracy

2. Don't request invites, trade, sell, or self-promote

3. Don't request or link to specific pirated titles, including DMs

4. Don't submit low-quality posts, be entitled, or harass others



Loot, Pillage, & Plunder

We heartily recommend visiting the free port of freemediaheckyeah (aka FMHY) while you sail the high seas, for all the freshest links the ocean has to offer.

📜 c/Piracy Wiki (Community Edition):

🏴‍☠️ Other communities

FUCK ADOBE!

Torrenting/P2P:

Gaming:


💰 Please help cover server costs.

Ko-Fi Liberapay
Ko-fi Liberapay

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
 
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] crunchy@lemmy.dbzer0.com 182 points 1 day ago (2 children)

gog-games is a piracy site that hosts torrents for games on GOG. The real GOG isn't shutting down.

[–] SevenSkalls@hexbear.net 16 points 1 day ago

Thanks for the clarification. I panicked for a second, too lol.

[–] Tetsuo@jlai.lu 24 points 1 day ago* (last edited 1 day ago) (2 children)

Edit : The banner was on a different website gog-games.to

Even on gog-games i can't see that banner.

Neither on the official gog.

In fact I don't see OP banner on any GOG related website. And not on any site using the same logo at the top.

[–] crunchy@lemmy.dbzer0.com 21 points 1 day ago (1 children)
[–] Tetsuo@jlai.lu 24 points 1 day ago* (last edited 18 hours ago) (1 children)

Ah it is indeed yet another gog-games domain.. Not to confuse with gog-games.org.

Also while searching for the .to website I just saw a report of a user suspecting a malware infection after downloading a game there.

Honestly, seeing how many websites share similar domains I would be very cautious browsing them...

But the banner is indeed real.

Edit : For more transparency, Here is the reddit post being suspicious about this site :

https://www.reddit.com/r/PiratedGames/comments/1qb0whb/goggamesto_is_safe_not/

But there is also reports that says its safe for the games but to be careful with the ads on the site that might lead to dangerous stuff. Probably a good idea to browse with a decent adblocker at least.

[–] Yglorba@lemmy.dbzer0.com 4 points 18 hours ago

https://gog-games.to/ is a well-known site with a good reputation (but also, because Gog's games are signed, they couldn't slip malware into them without being caught anyway, which is part of the reason they have a good reputation in the first place. There's enough eyes on them that if they'd ever altered any of the game they put on their site they'd have been caught immediately.)

[–] morto@piefed.social 6 points 1 day ago

Maybe you have blocking rules preventing it from showing