this post was submitted on 19 Oct 2026
192 points (97.5% liked)

Not The Onion

22731 readers
1566 users here now

Welcome

We're not The Onion! Not affiliated with them in any way! Not operated by them in any way! All the news here is real!

The Rules

Posts must be:

  1. Links to news stories from...
  2. ...credible sources, with...
  3. ...their original headlines, that...
  4. ...would make people who see the headline think, “That has got to be a story from The Onion, America’s Finest News Source.”

Please also avoid duplicates.

Comments and post content must abide by the server rules for Lemmy.world and generally abstain from trollish, bigoted, ableist, or otherwise disruptive behavior that makes this community less fun for everyone.

And that’s basically it!

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
 

Now, increased demand for traditional fishmeal – which is made from small species caught in the open ocean – has sent the industry scrambling for alternatives.

The stuff being used to make fish feed is a byproduct of the poultry industry – it’s what is left over after the parts of the chicken consumed by humans and the remains used for cat and dog food have been removed.

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] Infrapink@thebrainbin.org 2 points 12 hours ago

It's really a Hindu, rather than a specifically Indian, thing. But India is majority Hindu, so.

Hinduism encourages vegetarianism, and it is considered more moral than eating meat since you aren't killing an animal. However, only Brahmins are required to be vegetarian; other castes can eat non-cow meat if they like, though refraining from doing so is considered better. Since the Brahmins are the highest caste, vegetarianism is a conservative position in India, while the woke SJWs defend religious minorities' traditions of eating meat.

But, as has been said, this all means that India has a higher than average proportion of vegetarians, and even the lower-caste vegetarians are no less healthy than foreigners of comparable social class.

There are also degrees of vegetarianism. A former housemate of mine is a vegetarian for religious reasons, but he didn't mind eating a cupcake I'd made which he didn't realise had egg in it.

One of my current housemates eats meat but his dad is a Brahmin, and said dad can't even eat vegetarian food that was prepared in cookware which had meat in it at some point. To cater to the really strict Brahmins, there are "double vegetarian" restaurants, where all the food is meat-free and the staff are all vegetarians.

Indians recognise the word vegan because of English hegemony, but they don't use it themselves. They refer to such people as "true vegetarians"; I think the Jains fall here.