this post was submitted on 08 Jun 2026
263 points (97.1% liked)

Piracy: ꜱᴀɪʟ ᴛʜᴇ ʜɪɢʜ ꜱᴇᴀꜱ

69390 readers
338 users here now

⚓ Dedicated to the discussion of digital piracy, including ethical problems and legal advancements.

Rules • Full Version

1. Posts must be related to the discussion of digital piracy

2. Don't request invites, trade, sell, or self-promote

3. Don't request or link to specific pirated titles, including DMs

4. Don't submit low-quality posts, be entitled, or harass others



Loot, Pillage, & Plunder

We heartily recommend visiting the free port of freemediaheckyeah (aka FMHY) while you sail the high seas, for all the freshest links the ocean has to offer.

📜 c/Piracy Wiki (Community Edition):

🏴‍☠️ Other communities

FUCK ADOBE!

Torrenting/P2P:

Gaming:


💰 Please help cover server costs.

Ko-Fi Liberapay
Ko-fi Liberapay

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
 
top 50 comments
sorted by: hot top controversial new old
[–] FeelThePower@lemmy.dbzer0.com 1 points 1 hour ago

thank goodness I downloaded space engine and all the dlcs a few days ago

[–] kittenzrulz123@lemmy.dbzer0.com 9 points 18 hours ago

One of my favorite websites, damn 😔

[–] Ravenheart@lemmy.zip 18 points 21 hours ago

Ugh. I only ever learn about these sites after they go under.

[–] TheGreenWizard@lemmy.zip 91 points 1 day ago (6 children)

My dumbass did not see what sub this was and my heart SANK lmao

[–] TheDuke@europe.pub 4 points 4 hours ago

Haha same, almost shat myself there for a second.

[–] Redditmodstouchgrass@lemmy.zip 7 points 16 hours ago

Pins "fell for it again" award to my own chest

[–] LeeeroooyJeeenkiiins@hexbear.net 14 points 1 day ago (1 children)

Your comment versus so many who saw gog's recent weird ass nazi shit

[–] szszl@szmer.info -3 points 4 hours ago (3 children)

Sure, spread lies. Only in world of fucking snowflakes some emojis are considered nazi ¯\(ツ)

Thank god its some shitty gog-games and not the real gog - the only decent online game store left.

[–] Fifrok@discuss.tchncs.de 3 points 1 hour ago

What lies? They had actual SS Sig runes in the title of that email.

Btw, glazing a company while posting from a instance run by an anarchist collective is... an interesting choice.

[–] Alaskaball@hexbear.net 4 points 3 hours ago (1 children)

Funny how the German side of GoG recognized the nazi symbols and stopped the SS lightning bolts from being sent on the German version of the emails.

Anyways don't let the door hit you in the face on the way out

[–] szszl@szmer.info -3 points 3 hours ago

they had to do this because of such snowflakes 😘

[–] LeeeroooyJeeenkiiins@hexbear.net 1 points 4 hours ago (1 children)

some emojis

The sonnenrad and literal SS thunderbolts, lol

who triggered the activation of this 1 comment bot account and why

[–] szszl@szmer.info -2 points 3 hours ago

just some emojis, cartwheel, thunders looks normal to me. You might need some help if you see political symbols everywhere. When you see a rainbow in thy sky, do you wonder who from LGBT community paid for it?

load more comments (3 replies)
[–] daniskarma@lemmy.dbzer0.com 25 points 1 day ago

Thanks for everything!

It was one of the greatest safests places to get games.

[–] Tasakri@lemmy.dbzer0.com 41 points 1 day ago (1 children)

I really hope there's an alternative. This site was the best because it kept the games up-to-date

[–] Goodlucksil@lemmy.dbzer0.com 8 points 1 day ago (1 children)

There's one listed at the notice...

[–] winkerjadams@lemmy.dbzer0.com 3 points 23 hours ago (2 children)

Torrents are not the same unfortunately

[–] far_university1990@reddthat.com 1 points 2 hours ago

Torrent better i every way.

[–] Mylk@lemmy.dbzer0.com 3 points 19 hours ago

You need to look at the page, not just read the name...

[–] morto@piefed.social 47 points 1 day ago (1 children)

This is sad. gog-games is the most straightforward and elegantly simple site to get pirated games, all while being 100% safe

[–] cyberpunk007@lemmy.ca 10 points 1 day ago (1 children)

100%? How can one ever truly know?

[–] gedfromgont@piefed.ca 27 points 1 day ago (1 children)
[–] cyberpunk007@lemmy.ca 9 points 1 day ago

Oh damn. I did not know this existed. Thank you.

[–] Sanctus@anarchist.nexus 33 points 1 day ago (1 children)
[–] crunchy@lemmy.dbzer0.com 182 points 1 day ago (2 children)

gog-games is a piracy site that hosts torrents for games on GOG. The real GOG isn't shutting down.

[–] SevenSkalls@hexbear.net 16 points 1 day ago

Thanks for the clarification. I panicked for a second, too lol.

[–] Tetsuo@jlai.lu 24 points 1 day ago* (last edited 1 day ago) (2 children)

Edit : The banner was on a different website gog-games.to

Even on gog-games i can't see that banner.

Neither on the official gog.

In fact I don't see OP banner on any GOG related website. And not on any site using the same logo at the top.

[–] crunchy@lemmy.dbzer0.com 21 points 1 day ago (1 children)

Weird, it comes up for me:

[–] Tetsuo@jlai.lu 24 points 1 day ago* (last edited 19 hours ago) (1 children)

Ah it is indeed yet another gog-games domain.. Not to confuse with gog-games.org.

Also while searching for the .to website I just saw a report of a user suspecting a malware infection after downloading a game there.

Honestly, seeing how many websites share similar domains I would be very cautious browsing them...

But the banner is indeed real.

Edit : For more transparency, Here is the reddit post being suspicious about this site :

https://www.reddit.com/r/PiratedGames/comments/1qb0whb/goggamesto_is_safe_not/

But there is also reports that says its safe for the games but to be careful with the ads on the site that might lead to dangerous stuff. Probably a good idea to browse with a decent adblocker at least.

[–] Yglorba@lemmy.dbzer0.com 4 points 19 hours ago

https://gog-games.to/ is a well-known site with a good reputation (but also, because Gog's games are signed, they couldn't slip malware into them without being caught anyway, which is part of the reason they have a good reputation in the first place. There's enough eyes on them that if they'd ever altered any of the game they put on their site they'd have been caught immediately.)

load more comments (1 replies)
[–] PiraHxCx@lemmy.dbzer0.com 22 points 1 day ago (2 children)

what was this site? I used to have all my gog library shared on slsk, but right now I don't have enough storage to keep them on my pc

[–] Inui@hexbear.net 7 points 1 day ago* (last edited 1 day ago) (1 children)

It was a direct download site with links to every GOG game. It was good because it kept all the downloads up to date pretty consistently. Old school, no dealing with torrents unless you want to, just grab it from your browser. It's still up for a little while at https://gog-games.to/

load more comments (1 replies)
[–] Rooster326@programming.dev 8 points 1 day ago

It's just a piracy website

[–] DFX4509B@lemmy.wtf 3 points 1 day ago* (last edited 1 day ago)

Goddammit, first MagiPack, now this, who's next? I guess in the future the only way you'll be able to pirate games anymore is through torrents which you have no idea if they're safe or not?

[–] Luminous5481@anarchist.nexus 8 points 1 day ago

well I guess I'm gonna queue up torrents for all the games I was planning on downloading now

😭😭 i dont torrent so fk me😔

I especially liked that they always tried to keep the best Version instead of the latest.😞

[–] ModernRisk@lemmy.dbzer0.com 6 points 1 day ago

This is AWFUL news :/

[–] WorldsDumbestMan@lemmy.today -3 points 17 hours ago (3 children)

Was it because of the swastika incident?

[–] Allero@lemmy.today 3 points 3 hours ago

This is not the actual GOG. Only a pirated games site.

[–] gedfromgont@piefed.ca 2 points 5 hours ago
[–] Luminous5481@anarchist.nexus 7 points 16 hours ago

why would it be? they have nothing to do with GOG, other than sourcing their torrents from there

load more comments
view more: next ›